Online Database Resources

Databases A - Z

A  |  B  |  C  |  D  |  E  |  F  |  G  |  H  |  I  |  J  |  L  |  M  |   N  |  O  |  P |  S |  W 

To access a database, click on the database logo or title.

Databases: A

Access Science
Access Science is the electronic version of the 9th edition of McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology. Each article contains web links to other resources and a comprehensive bibliography. Additional resources in Access Science are McGraw Hill Yearbooks (science research updates), Science News articles, and McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Scientific & Technology Terms.

ARTstor
This database is an online collection of over 330,000 art images. ARTstor contains ten collections from art repositories from around the world. The collections are fully searchable by many fields, such as title, creator, or location.

America: History and Life
This resource contains over 490,000 bibliographic entries from 1,700 journals dating back to 1954. The historical coverage of America: History and Life is the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. There are some links to full-text articles through the History Cooperative, JSTOR, and Project Muse.

ACLS History E-Book Project
ACLS Humanities E-Book is an online, fully searchable collection of high-quality books in history recommended and reviewed by historians. This is a collection of over 1,000 e-books with links to book reviews from JSTOR and Project Muse. The user is able to search by Library of Congress Subject Headings.


This database is a collection of 17,400 American biographies from throughout American history. ANB is the electronic version of the 24 volume print collection of American National Biography. It is updated quarterly with several hundred biographies and revisions added yearly. Each entry also provides links to related web resources and a bibliography.

Advanced Placement Source
This database is a collection of full-text articles from over 6,100 journals from scholarly journals, magazines, and newspaper articles. APS has the ability to search by Library of Congress Subject Headings.

Return to Top

Databases: B

booksinprint.com logo
Books in Print is an index of 5 million books and audiovisual materials. The entries contain basic bibliographic information, such as title, author, and publisher. Some of the entries have short synopsizes and reviews.

Return to Top

Databases: C

Oxford Dictionary of National Biography home page
Granger’s Poetry contains over 190,000 full-text poems. There are also hundreds of biographies of the most famous poets from around the world. Users can search Granger’s Poetry by keyword, first line of poem, author, and title.

Return to Top

Databases: D

Oxford Dictionary of National Biography home page
The Oxford DNB is a collection of over 50,000 illustrated biographies of prominent British figures. The Oxford DNB is an expanded version of the Victorian Dictionary of National Biography with revisions and the addition of 16,500 biographies.

Return to Top

Databases: E

Encyclopedia Americana
Encyclopedia Americana is a general encyclopedia, which is similar to Encyclopedia Britannica. The articles are from leading scholars in the field. There are also further reading sections.


Britannica Online is a general encyclopedia that contains basic information on a given topic. The articles are written by experts in their particular field. Additionally, it provides links to other articles and web resources.

Return to Top

Databases: F


FirstSearch is a collection of databases that contain popular and scholarly journals with some links to full-text articles. FirstSearch covers a wide variety of academic subjects.

Return to Top

Databases: G

Green File Green File
This database offers information covering all aspects of the environment and the impact of humans. The collection includes: scholarly journal articles, government reports, popular titles.

Grove Art Online
Grove Art is an electronic version of The Dictionary of Art (the 34 volume print version is found in the reference collection) and The Oxford Companion to Western Art. Grove Art provides 45,000 articles with over 130,000 searchable images linked to museum and gallery websites.

Grove Music Online
Grove Music is an electronic version of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians (the 28 volume print version is found in the reference collection). Additionally, found in Grove Music is The Dictionary of Opera and The Dictionary of Jazz. Other features include 500 musical samples and over 3,000 links to related web resources.

Return to Top

Databases: H

 Historical Abstracts
This resource contains over 500,000 bibliographic entries from 2,000 journals. The historical coverage of Historical Abstracts is world history from 1490 to the present (excluding United States and Canadian History, which is found in America: History and Life). There are some full-text links to articles through the History Cooperative, JSTOR, and Project Muse.

History Reference Center
This database is a collection of 1,000 history reference books and encyclopedias. Additionally, there are 60 history journals; 58,000 primary source documents; and a large collection of photographs, maps, and historical video. To access History Reference Center click on “EbscoHost Web” and replace “Advanced Placement Source” with “History Reference Center” in the drop-down menu.

Return to Top

Databases: I

 In the First Person
This database is an index of personal narratives, including letters, diaries, memoirs, autobiographies, and oral histories. In the First Person contains the voices of more than 300,000 individuals from 2,500 collections. An added feature is 2,500 audio and video files. The index is searchable by keyword and subject.

Return to Top

 Informé
Informé provides full-text access to 140 popular Spanish-language magazines. All of the annotations are also in English to assist the user. There is also a Spanish thesaurus.

Return to Top

Databases: J


JSTOR is a collection of over 900 full-text scholarly journals. JSTOR contains complete backfiles for each journal with a moving window that averages around 5 years (current issues are not available.)

Return to Top

Databases: L


LexisNexis is broken down into four searchable areas: News, Legal Research, Legislation, and Statistics. In the General News section, the user can search over 1,000 major newspapers, magazines and television news transcripts from around the world.

Literary Reference Center
LRC is a comprehensive resource in all facets of literature. Literary Reference Center contains 130,000 author biographies, all of the Masterplots editions in a digital format, literary criticism, over 1000 literary reference books, scholarly journals, book reviews, poems, short stories, classic books, and author interviews.

Return to Top

Databases: M

MAS Ultra MAS Ultra
This database is a collection of full-text articles from 500 magazines and reference material. MAS Ultra also includes a large collection of biographies, primary source documents, and images.

Multimedia Encyclopedia
The Multimedia Encyclopedia is a popular encyclopedia written for a general audience. The multimedia features include interactive bibliographies, images, and web links to other resources.

Return to Top

Databases: N

The Nation Archive
The Nation is the United States’ oldest weekly magazine. The Nation covers foreign affairs; local and national politics; education, law, literature, and the arts. The digital archive contains every issue of The Nation from 1865 to the present. The articles are in PDF format with full color images.

Nature Online
Nature Online is a weekly international journal publishing peer-reviewed research in all fields of science and technology.  This online version of the print journal has coverage from 1997 to the present issue.  The online site also features a weekly podcast, news and research highlights.


Naxos is a collection of over 80,000 full audio tracks and over 5,500 digital CDs. The major collections of Naxos are classical music and jazz. Additionally, Naxos offers reference material, such as music encyclopedias and dictionaries.


NetLibrary is an eBook repository of over 5,500 full-text books including reference books, monographs, literature, and fiction. All of the NetLibrary books are also linked to BearCAT. The user can browse or checkout books in NetLibrary.

Newspaper Source Newspaper Source
This database contains full text of 35 national/international and 375 U.S. regional newspapers. Newspaper Source also includes full-text transcripts of television and radio news.

Nueva Enciclopedia Cumbre
The Nueva Enciclopedia Cumbre is a general Spanish language encyclopedia. Other features include a bibliography for each entry, images, and web links to other resources.

Return to Top

Databases: O

Oxford English Dictionary
The OED Online is the electronic version of the 1989 2nd edition of the dictionary (the 20 volume print version is found in the reference collection). The OED traces word usage and definitions through English quotations from a large collection of different sources. The online version is updated quarterly with 1,000 new entries and revisions.

Oxford English Dictionary Oxford Language Dictionaries Online
Oxford Language Dictionaries Online (OLDO) offers over 4 million words, phrases and translations in French, German, Spanish, Italian, Russian, and Chinese. Also features native speaker audio, click-through verb tables and pronunciation charts, explanations of grammatical terms, notes on life and culture, guidance on grammar and idiomatic usage, and extensive links to other sites for further research.

Oxford Reference Online
This database lets the user search over 100 Oxford University Press reference books at the same time. There is a wide range of titles that focus on art, history, law, religion, science, and the social sciences.

Return to Top

Databases: P

Professional Development Collection
This database is designed for educators and contains over 500 education journals and 200 educational reports.


Project Muse is a collection of over 300 full-text scholarly journals. The coverage in Muse is current (five to ten years). Muse has the ability to search by Library of Congress Subject Headings.

American Periodicals Series Online
American Periodical Series (APS) contains full-text digitized page images from over 1,000 American magazines and journals published from colonial days to the dawn of the 20th century. Highlights of the collection are 89 journals published between 1740 and 1800; and 118 periodicals from the Civil War and Reconstruction eras.

Historical Newspapers
ProQuest Historical Newspapers offers the historical full-text backfiles to four of the most prominent U.S. newspapers: The Boston Globe (1872-1923), The New York Times (1851-2003), The Wall Street Journal (1889-1989), and The Washington Post (1877-1999). The newspapers are searchable by author, title, historical era, prominent person, and date.

Newspapers
ProQuest Newspapers offers complete full-text issues, from the mid-1980s to the present, from prominent U.S. newspapers: The Boston Globe, Christian Science Monitor, The Hartford Courant, The Los Angeles Times, The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, and The Washington Post. The newspapers are searchable by author, title, and date.

Return to Top

Databases: S

Salem History
Salem History is a reference database that contains The Decades Series (the 1950s, 1960s, 1970s, and 1980s sets) and Milestone Documents in American History: Exploring the Primary Sources that Shaped America. The database is fully searchable by keyword or browsed by subject. Print volumes located in the Reference Collection.

Science Direct
ScienceDirect's Freedom Collection from Elsevier Publishing includes over 1,600 authoritative titles from the core scientific journal literature, including The Lancet, Cell and Tetrahedron.  The search page is able to be customized with personalized settings by creating a unique login and password.

Science Reference Center
Science Reference Center covers all of the scientific fields, such as biology, chemistry, environmental science, and physics. The SRC contains 630 full-text publications including: science encyclopedias, other reference books, periodicals, and biographies. To access SRC, click on “EbscoHost Web” and replace “Advanced Placement Source” with “Science Reference Center” in the drop-down menu.

Scientific American Archive
Scientific American is a scholarly science journal with articles written by experts in the field. The coverage of Scientific American is from 1993 to the present. All the articles are in PDF format with full color images.

Databases: W

Science Direct  WorldCat
Using the FirstSearch interface, WorldCat is a global network of libraries that unite their collections in one master catalog.  WorldCat is searchable using simple keywords, just like you do at your favorite Web search site. An advanced search helps you limit results to specific authors, subjects, formats, and dates.

Return to Top